Blog #44 – September 5, 2016

F R O M   L O R I . . .

000005aMorqQ

Blue is the best freezie.

I’ll admit I’m not suuuuper excited about weighing in tomorrow morning. While I’m feeling very happy, Mother Nature has decided to focus her fury on my lady parts at present. That would explain why I wanted to eat everything not nailed down for the last few days. I didn’t go nuts. I’d say the ‘worst’ thing I had was a jumbo freezie. But I wasn’t journaling food nor did I go for any big walks. As always though, I shall take my lumps (so close to literal, right?) and move forward.

Speaking of periods – haha, you didn’t think I was done with that, did you? – here’s something wonderful. For more than a few years, I have had the distinct pleasure of having two periods per month. 7-days each. Hardcore. I just felt your empathy through your phone/computer/mind. Thank you. Well, something I’ve been noticing thanks to the Period Tracker app (I love that there are apps for everything) is that… could it be… I… I’m now getting ONE period per month!? ONE!

I asked my new friend Leah about it. Leah? Oh, she is a doctor I met on a flight from Ottawa to Boston last month. She was moving from Vancouver to Boston. We met at the gate, became instant friends, changed seats so we could sit together and haven’t gone a day without talking since. She is not only a doctor but a ballet dancer. It’s enough to make you want to curse her for her well-rounded talents, but then she hits you with her sharp, sarcastic wit and you can’t help but shove her into a hedge and be her pal.

Dr. Leah explained it this way: IMG_7519

I think Brad just fainted.

golf crafts sept 2016In totally unrelated news – Brad just breathed a huge sigh of relief – UTERUS UTERUS UTERUS!  Haha. Just kidding. Hey, remember how I was talking about being some sort of comedic inspirational-type speaker? I got a gig. WHAT? I know. How I got the gig is pretty great too. On Friday, I was on Global doing golf crafts at the Shaw Open Classic – more specifically, trying to get Scott Fee to have a Jello shot – and it turns out the clip has over 10,000 views. Who knew, right? Anyway, one lady who saw it emailed me and asked if I’d be the keynote speaker at a women’s conference. Universe, I like what you’ve done here. Or as the old saying goes, “Marshmallow vodka inevitably leads to speaking engagements,” or something along those lines.

Love,

Lori

Pounds lost this week: .3 (falls to knees in praise of the uterine goddesses; offers sacrificial goat)

Total pounds lost: 79

 

FROM BRAD…

Summer is over; Fall is just around the corner. Fall is my favorite season. Cool days, crock pots and fireplaces, empty golf courses, pretty colors.  I have to avoid the fat person Fall temptation of hoodies and sweaters, extra layers to cover up the extra layers. My weight loss has stalled through the summer with being undisciplined, vacations and a back injury. In the past this would be a good time to pile on the layers and hide indoors for the winter. I can’t do that no matter what is happening, no matter how much I want to wrap myself in comfort. So what am I going to do to light the fire again?

saxenda

Saxenda! A new weight loss drug, recently approved by Health Canada. Sounds like Sex-ender but that’s actually what obesity does. Saxenda is the latest weight loss drug made available in Canada. I’ve spent time researching it, talked to my GP (thumbs up), hummed and hawed that it is cheating on the program because I wanted a pure diet, exercise, therapy method to get to my goal. With exercise out of the equation for the foreseeable future I either need to starve myself or add a turbo boost to the healthy eating. That’s how I’m justifying the addition of drugs to my program. To be honest I thought about doing it and not telling anybody but that would defy the honesty Lori and I committed to when we started FFF.  I know other fatties follow this blog so I will report weekly my experience with this new drug and maybe, if successful, help a few of you consider this option. Saxenda is not a miracle drug that doesn’t require healthy choices. A bit of history would now be important. It was developed as an injectable diabetic medication and serendipitously it had the surprise side effect of weight loss.

heroin.jpg

It decreases appetite and slows down emptying of the stomach keeping you feeling full longer. Cha-ching!!  The pharma company that makes it, came in their pants, and then went on to develop the needed studies to acquire the indication for weight loss.

 

It takes five weeks to work up to the adequate dose so don’t expect crazy weight loss numbers right out of the gate. I’ll only report on side effects that I experience if any. So this week’s check list:

  1. Get your head around sticking a needle in yourself- done (I’ve done 3 and honestly it’s nothing)
  2. Commit to a five week weaning off my Summer Stuff-a-Palooza- done
  3. Get back to therapy – done
  4. Try not to hate Lori’s phenomenal success- (it will come)

 

P.S. Saxenda may cause thyroid tumors…but it may not. See Lori, glass half-full, rose-colored glasses, unicorns and puppy videos.

Pounds lost this week: 0.0 ( that’s just since Thursday in my defense)

Total pounds lost: Whatever it was last week.

 

Leave a comment